Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 11th, 2012

While perusing the pages, blogs and posted baked good entries last night, I happened upon another microwave cake.  In my previous posted trial I poo pooed the use of the microwave, expressing dissatisfaction with my attempt at the 5 minute mug cake, ( in a previous post ) I tried a week or so ago.   So, you may ask, why did I so quickly jump on this new find?   I could certainly get a chocolate fix by diving into a bag of chocolate chips or mixing some cocoa in my yogurt but this recipe from   Seasaltwithfood  might have a higher success rate, no egg, no cow’s milk, it calls for almond milk;  right up my alley.

The first attempt, let’s call it “the 5”  baked up heavy and dense,  possibly due to the egg in it.   I thought perhaps I fouled it up because I used less oil than was called for but this new recipe, call it “the 2”  ( the cake is baked for 2 minutes on HIGH) uses only 1 1/2 Tbsp of oil, similar to my previous adaptation.   The resulting cake was much lighter, fluffier, actually cake like,  I yearned to plop it off with a good frosting but restrained myself and dusted both with confectioners sugar.    I probably will add a little bit more sugar if I make this again.

Here is the recipe          Makes 2 cups or mugs

4 Tbsp unbleached flour   ( I used 2 Tbsp unbleached white whole wheat + 2 Tbsp unbleached regular )

3 Tbsp sugar ( maybe add an extra 1 tsp )

2 Tbsp cocoa, natural, unprocessed

pinch of salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup almond milk

1 1/2 Tbsp oil

3/4 tsp cider vinegar

1/4 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 Tbsp raspberry jam ( I used blackberry cause it was handier )

handful of chocolate chips

Mix flour, sugar, cocoa, salt, baking soda in a small bowl.   Add milk, oil, vinegar, jam and vanilla, blend then add chips.   Pour into 2 greased cups or mugs, place in microwave and bake for 2 minutes on HIGH.  Cool, dust , dollop with your choice  & indulge!

Blended batter fills 2 cups or mugs

the batter rose above the cup, overflowed a bit then settled down

light, moist, pleasing though a dollop of ganache would be grand

I now amend my previous assessment of microwaving a single serving quick fix chocolate cake.   I could see myself using this recipe again.   So if you try this ‘2 minute cake’, please let me know what you think!    Until we meet again …. Mangia!

Read Full Post »

BAKING on LIFE

LIFE, FOOD, FAMILY AND BAKING REFLECTIONS, what goes on between bakery hours

Tea Time Shopping Guide

From the Afternoon Tea, Chat, and Treasuries Etsy Team

Relishing It

All things food

frugalfeeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Two Barn Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

Earlysvillefarmersmarket's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog